I’ve Been Here Before….

Now that my grandson Riley is staying with us at night Mon-Thur I live for Friday nights so I can relax and unwind from the week!  Don’t get me wrong I love him to pieces and to be honest he is not a bad kid at all.  By the time he get’s to my house he is pretty much sleep so I don’t have a lot to do.  Lately, he has been voicing to his mom that she needs to get a daytime job like the other moms at daycare!  My daughter has been looking but we all know the story, things are tight, budget cuts, no jobs blah, blah, blah but she is trying.  Meanwhile, Riley has started wetting the bed…I think he’s asleep when its happening but regardless its happening.  Now its been YEARS since I’ve had to deal with this and I am stressed.  The solution to this problem is for me to get up around 4 am and take him to the potty and by the time his mom gets there around 7:30 he doesn’t wet the bed.  Folks here is the problem….I am not used to getting up at 4 am for anything!  This is hard!  Last night I slept all through the night and sure enough it happened!  I told his mom not to punish him because I felt responsible.

Getting up at 4 am to take a 4 year old to the bathroom is a nightmare, he’s tired and doesn’t want to get up so there is crying and whining, tantrums and the whole bit!  Pure torture!  For ME!  But I guess that’s what grandmas are for.  We do all the things that mommies are too tired, too busy or too broke to do!  Here it is Friday night and I’m missing him just like I missed Juliet when she left.  It is definitely worth the loss of sleep and all the fighting just to spend time with him and to hear him say “I love you Grams, your the best.”

Image

Image

I can’t believe how much he’s grown!!  I love you Riley, your the best! -Grams

Leave a Reply

